Skip to content

Your Body should be Your Temple not your Canvas

June 10, 2011

I love tattoos. I love the art work when it is done by a good artist. But what I don’t like is the abundant of tattoos on a person that does nothing for them.

This morning I was at the doctor office and a short muscle bound guy stand in front of me with short sleeve wearing shorts. I had nothing else to do but wait for my turn and stare. I stared at him limb by limb checking out his ink work. There were just too much going on. Why not keep one theme. Don’t go crazy and get the devil face on your big calf, Hawaii flowers all over the place, dragon, and the Holy cross if you get the picture. It just too much going on. Keep a theme! And please do not cover up your whole body with this one theme are you will look like a fool!

I have watched a few television show showing people addicted to the ink. Some people were beautiful going in; like plastic surgery continue messing with the law of nature coming out looking like a hot mess. Why temper with your body when it is already beautiful? Okay one tattoo no problem. Alright another tattoo that is not so big and out there no problem but why go farther? Why tattoo your name, lover name, children name, and etc on your body? Are you worry that you might forget it when your old? Yes it is enduring but why not use that tattoo money and bank it up for your children education? More than two tattoo in “my” opinion is asking for it. Unless it is done in good taste.

I hate to see females with their breast cover up with their man name or their name. Then a damn flower or the cross. I am like hecky naw. She just ruin her beautiful breast thinking that is cute. I am not against tattoo which are in good taste just bad tattoos and over doing it. I am not even going to start on a few bizarre piercings I seen back in the days or location of piercing. That is another topic to itself.

Enough of me ranting let me show you what I mean by good ink work vs bad ink work.
tattoo
Your body is already a work of art so why disfigure it on purpose?

I am interested to hear what is your opinion on tattoos whether you have them or not.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2011 2:27 pm

    I only have 2 tats and it is very addicting…. but I would never put a mans name on me that is just plain stupid in my opinion! I do think that the tats are more excepted today, but face tats NO! lol Love your blog!

    • June 10, 2011 2:30 pm

      Thank you Luv, I love yours too! May I ask what is your tattoos of and the stories behind them…only if it is not too personal to share?

  2. June 13, 2011 9:29 am

    I admire tats, not so sure I’m ever going to get one though, Lovely Blog! kudos!!

    • June 13, 2011 11:47 am

      Thank you Obafuntay and welcome to my blog!

      I had one tattoo and when I got it my brother freaked out and asked me why have I done that to my body. I explained to him it is on my back no one can see it unless I am wearing a tank or halter top. He begged of me not getting anymore. I loved him so much I have not. But I don’t regret having it.

  3. June 13, 2011 9:26 pm

    I am not a tat person. They scream HEY look at me. I agree your body is a temple. A temple that God made, why mark it up? This was a nice read.

    • June 14, 2011 3:07 am

      Hi Harold and thank you. The same comment you have written was the same words my brother said quote on quote. This was the other reason I never got any more tats after my first one.

  4. tokyobling permalink
    June 14, 2011 11:36 pm

    The thing with tattoos is that getting them involves a lot of pain. This pain forces the body to release endorphins, which in some few people (mostly males) can cause allergic reactions (you know the guy in elementary school who fainted after every vaccination shot? He was one of them…) and in some other few people causes a life long addiction. In short, some people just can’t stop themselves getting more ink, and in life as in art, some people just don’t have all that great sense of planning. Also for most people taste changes during life and the guy you met might have been through a religious phase when he was younger, then changed to flowers after he met a new love, etc etc, and so on.

    Oh, and a few of the photos you posted are actually henna tattoos or painted on, not real tattoos! (^-^)

    • June 15, 2011 2:02 pm

      Wow, I am impress Tokyobling you know your stuff. I even learn a few things from your comment…thank you!
      I have a question how can you tell which one is henna and which was is a real tattoo? Even watching movies with celebs who have the fake tattoo on it always look real. I could never differentiated what was what. Thank you for stopping by I hope I see more of you in the future.

  5. June 15, 2011 11:22 am

    I have six tattoos… five which i regret. They aren’t awful… but they aren’t perfect. The first one, a rose on my back left shoulder.. was a symbol of a life change for me (divorce), and so that is the one I love. The others were out of boredom or rebellion.. whichever the case, they suck.

    I have never tattooed or pierced my face. I never will. I do not judge those that do… it is just not for me.

    Great post…

    Darlene.

    • June 15, 2011 2:09 pm

      Thank you Darlene for sharing. The life sharing rose symbolic sound beautiful to me. I know there is a story behind it and for that I will come to your blog to find out one post at a time;)

  6. June 24, 2011 11:07 am

    I never did understand the concept of having your entire body covered in tattoos. I don’t have one myself, so I wouldn’t understand the addiction to begin with. I want just one, but I’m too afraid. The concept of willingly having a needle touch my skin just creeps me out. Anyways, great blog!

  7. December 31, 2011 9:24 am

    Love this! ha! I have 8 tattos. No regrets on any of them! I plan on getting more soon!

    I agree with you about chicks that get their bf’s name or husband’s name…It’s tacky and a total no-no! Like B* wtf were you thinking??!
    I love muscles+ink=hotness! haha
    Im into that. I think its sexy…

    Me personally, I wouldnt tattoo my face, hahaha (my parents would probably disown me)… but if I see someone I appreciate them. I love personal expression. If that’s the way they want to express themselves…then im all for it. You want to tattoo your body, go ahead. Were all unique and that’s what I love about this world.

    I have my tongue piereced, and ears… but that’s it. Id like to your post on “unique” piercings ..haha! pictures please!

    So you only have 1 tattoo?

    • January 1, 2012 8:53 am

      Ya, I have just one, my brother scare me crapless stating whatever one put onto their body they will be tormented with it for eternity. I guess I be just tired and in pain, lol. I will post it once I found the picture of it. It is on my back. It is a lady with heals riding a panther:)

Leave a Reply

