Skip to content

Healthy Pancakes worth the Calories

February 3, 2012

Today will be my first Friday posting pictures with cooking directions on what I am eating on my food journey. Many of my meals repeat itself so I will be writing every two weeks a food/cooking post. I will also introduce to you food items I am eating to guide me with my weight, which has nothing to do with cooking…not all food items need to be cook or incorporate into a meal. If interested in following along in my food journey just subscribe to easily follow me along or visit me here every two weeks on Friday. Almost everyone love a nice fluffy pancake. At times we end up eating too much or drown it in syrup. I know I use to love to go to Denny’s and the Pancake House. I use to eat tons of pancakes and drown it in syrup so that it would not be dry and top it off with bananas on top and between each sections. Not knowing then only half a banana was good enough and that banana for fruit intake is a bit high in calories. Now I understand when my mom use to say I am eating too much bananas slow it down. She is a health nut. I wish I was more like her sometimes. Since I been on my “cutting down” journey I change around my approach to food. Let me warn you now that I eat regular meals I just cut down the portion greatly compare to what I ate in the past. I now take an account for everything I place inside my mouth. One day I was in the kitchen and my hubby request for Pancakes. When I was getting the mixture together I said to myself why not make it a fibrous pancake. Fibrous to me is food that help assist the bowel to flow easily. So I made Musli Pancakes for both him and I.

Musli Pancake w/Apple
1/4 Musli
1/4 Pancake Mix (or you can use 1/4 Wheat/White Flour with 1tsp Baking Soda)
1/3 Water
1 Apple
1 TBS Syrup
*Optional = Cinnamon sprinkle on top of of Apple slices (just a little)

I am sure you’re looking at the syrup amount and thinking I must be nuts. That won’t do it. Funny thing it does. The moisture/juice in the apple help give you that moisture you are craving to go with your pancakes. The syrup is just a nice little sugar burst most of us grave for. I did not use eggs, sugar, salt, or milk in my ingredients. I like to keep things simple, have a meal I can enjoy without feeling guilty later about the calories or working out like a mad women to burn what I ate. Plus you would not even notice by the taste egg, milk, salt, and sugar are not use. There are so many variation of Musli Pancake on the net. At first I thought I was a mad genius in the kitchen until I looked around and found out other people was on the same track as I, but they used milk, sugar, eggs,  and salt.  My recipe above can only make two nice size pancake. This plate with a nice cup of tea, glass of water, or small cup of coffee will get you full. If you do try this recipe please come back and let me know what you think. Guten Appetit!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Christina permalink
    February 3, 2012 5:52 am

    This sounds really tastey nice post 🙂

  2. February 4, 2012 2:30 pm

    Mmmmm! sounds yummy….especially with the apples and cinnamon. Save me some!

Trackbacks

  1. Muesli Cereal « rawemotionalwriter

Leave a Reply

